DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by Alex D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2022 05:39:10

Builiding on the excellent frame work from the came from beneath the sea, this addition focuses on the hammer horror vein of media. With refined rules and excellent new cinimatic powers and archtypes this is a must have for those who want to run a hammer horror style game with just so much blood and the same set but a diffrent movie. Do you neeed the print version if you have beanth the sea, not nessearily but you definatley need the pdf as the changes are not to be missed. Personally prefer the art style to beaneath the sea but I'm sucker for gothic horror b movies.

In short GET IT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by Karol L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2022 04:39:57

Great game, combining horror and comedy. Want to run not-too-comical game of old horrors - get this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Deep!
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2022 14:06:58

This book would be a 6 stars if I could; the Dapper Crabs made me far happier than anything had in a TTRPG in a long, long time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Deep!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beast: The Primordial
by Brian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2022 18:30:16

Put simply besides the rules feeling redundant with its own preset descreiptions, the biggest problem I see is that it agrandizes abusers. You gain power and strength by Torturing and psychologically traumatizing others "For their own Good." You are hunted by Heroes who want to protect the innocents from your abuse. WHat is this? I liked the idea until I got into the rules and saw only a game for people who want to create an excuse for abusing others with no ideas of guilt or remorse. These are actually set up as anathema to the characters you play.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Beast: The Primordial
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hearts and Minds
by john r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2022 13:04:25

I was one of the players in the Campaign where these debuted. And they're an amazing addition. Its a great emulator for rising fame/infamy. It also gives the feel of rising followers on social media.

It created a great tension within the campaign. Two players were competing to be the most famous member of the team, while two of us who were playing more subdued shadowy type characters were worried how famous we were becoming.

These rules, while written for Aberrant, could easily be adapted to other settings or Rules. I have an idea how to adapt them to a They Came From Beneath the Sea campaign, to emulate the ratings and popularity of the "tv show"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hearts and Minds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vigil Watch Collected Volume (5e OGL)
by Alain G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2022 01:50:58

This book describes six different regions for the Scarred Lands setting. As such, it is intended more for DMs rather than players. It seems particularly great for new fans of the Scarred Lands, as it explores areas that weren't covered in full details in earlier editions, and doesn't require an extensive knowlegde of the setting to digest.

Out of these four areas, six can be understood as "home bases" for adventures and campaigns (the cities of Mansk, Leoni, the Iron Court, and Lokil), and two are more for exploration (the Toe Islands and the Festering Fields). Each chapter is around 10 pages long and describes some key locations, potential encounters (including three short adventures), new monsters (and a couple of magic items), a few NPCs, etc. All these elements are evocative and can be easily used in an adventure.

On a side note, an index listing the creatures by CR with the page at which they can be found could have made this book a bit easier to use, in particular for the PoD edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vigil Watch Collected Volume (5e OGL)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by CP H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2022 13:51:26

Such a ridiculously fun game that captures the vibe of the 1970s-era horror films it's pastiching! I ran a one-shot session with my Vampire: The Masquerade group over holidays, and I had multiple players note that it was the most fun they've ever had playing an RPG.

Rules-wise, TCFBTG uses Onyx Path's Storypath System, but I found the description of it here more intuitive than in some of the other Storypath books. I'm not sure if the system is actually streamlined here or if I've just developed a better understanding of the system, but I think the OP crew has hit it out of the park with their write-ups.

I also love how much the fun of TCFBTG is integrated into the rules themselves, especially the Tropes, Cinematics, Quips, etc., which encourage the table to lean into the hokey humor of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

They Came From Beneath the Sea!
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2022 08:37:25

TCFBTS! is what would happen if Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchet was asked to rewrite the RPG adaptation of Roger Corman's Jaws (After Spielberg was eaten by the mechanical Bruce). It's got a lot of love and affection for the genre, but isn't afraid to recognise the occasional absurdities, or to play up the tropes we've all come to know. As a big fan of the horror/comedy/b-movie genres, i've enjoyed the balance it allows you to take in the game, and you can vere wildly from one tone to another without it breaking your immersion - in fact, it just enhances it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beneath the Sea!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

They Came From The Bermuda Triangle!
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2022 08:29:43

A fun addition to the TCFBTS! range, that really gets you and your players in amongst the action! With boats, sea battles, and more moistened beasties, you've got a bunch of new toys to play with. What i liked about it was how most of the key elements had story hooks built in, so it wasn't just a fun description and a stat block, it was the start of a story. The book also contains some story ideas, with descriptions of the acts, what can happen, and how you might play them. So, someone looking to get into the game has got a bunch of ideas to get them started befoer they see where the depths take them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From The Bermuda Triangle!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

They Came From Beyond the Grave!
by Ozzy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2022 05:52:04

I already loved They Came From Beneath the Sea! so when this game was announced on Kickstarter, I jumped in immediately because classic Brit horror is one of my favourite film genres. If you always wanted to play a game set in a film by Hammer or Amicus, this is the RPG for you. The Archetypes, Trademarks, Tropes and Quips reflect the genre perfectly.

If you know the Storypath (or even old WOD) system, the mechanics will already be familiar, with the various traits offering enhancements (bonus dice/successes etc.) to rolls. The liveblood, however, are Cinematics, which offer a fourth wall breaking way for players to directly affect the given situation. As you play not only a character but the actor playing that character, you can ask, for example, for a retake of a scene, for a standin/stuntperson to take over from you, for a means of escape because the set is made of cardboard, or introduce a missing scene that explains why you suddenly have that much needed flask of holy water you didn't have before, among others.

The Clue system used here means that the action is always moving along as PCs always find what they need to succeed. None of the "You didn't find a particular document/piece of information so this doesn't work" nonsense that plagues Call of Cthulhu etc.

Another special concept in this RPG are scenarios with the option that PCs exist in both the past (18th/19th century) and the 60s/70s of the 20th century whose actions can influence each other or provide insights/memories in certain situations. This is a brilliant way of using stories with long-lived/resurrected villains, lingering curses or hauntings and the like. It can also be used as a framework for portmanteau style campaigns (Dr. Terror's House of Horror, The House that Dripped Blood etc.).

The plot hooks, monsters and the two scenarios at the end of the book provide excellent starting points for both one-shots and longer campaigns so this book certainly has everything you need to run the game.

As with TCFBtS!, each chapter is preceded by a piece of brilliantly written, appropriately hammy, short fiction which serve as both scene settings and scenario ideas.

If this made you curious but you're unsure if you want to fork out for the core book, this jumpstart is cheap and contains the base rules as well as a fun scenario featuring satan-worshipping nuns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beyond the Grave!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by luke G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2022 05:21:29

By far one of the worst RPG books I have ever read.

Setting is insultingly stupid and poorly thought out, the authors are so arrogant they think witty remarks about modern progressive politics makes up for the massive lack of information about gods being public, yet history remains the same. Protip: Leave out realworld politics in your alternative earth. Character creation is impossible to understand, my group have a combined experience of atleast 60 years between us with storyteller and none of us could make sense of it. Combat is broken, every attack is basically the same and armour is convoluted. Extremely dissapointing. More than 20 years to get it right and this actually makes v20 look innovative.

We played this for 3 months and gave up out of sheer frustration, as players and a very dissapointed ST.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinity Continuum: Assassins (Pre-Order)
by Peter F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2022 22:42:49

Trinity Continuum: Assassins adds a dark element to a setting that, in spite of horrors like the Aberrant War, leans toward the bright. And it does so brilliantly, with the best summation I've ever seen in any work that covers this topic: "After all, the idea that violence is universally a moral ill favors the powerful and the status quo. Those with the monopoly on violence do not want others to turn it against them. Assassins have the power to upend this status quo and strike fear into the hearts of the elite." While there are more vicious, criminal-aligned elements in the "world of Shadow" (which, yes, bears superficial similarities to certain other darkness-filled worlds Onyx Path develops), the factions more clearly intended for player membership are devoted to this ideal. Aside from inter-Assassin rivalry, the game does a fine job of creating organizations filled with despicable people. (I'm a bit surprised that the name "Theseus" doesn't appear once, given that they are already Assassin-adjacent and their arch-enemies are major players here, but there's plenty of time for their inclusion.)

By design, the Flux-shrouded society of Assassins hides beneath the pulp-inspired adventure of Trinity Continnum, and the section discussing how to connect it to other TC settings is short but to the point. Inspired Assassins gain abilities much like other Talents of the reality, inspired (pun intended) by the settings that the game is meant to emulate, but they are otherwise very much like Daredevils from previous works. High-end Assassins can perform some truly superhuman feats, but as a rule their abilties exist to let them get in, perform a flawless kill, and get out with none the wiser. Of course, missions will go sideways, and that too is built into the mechanics of the game. As the developers state up front, this is a competence fantasy, so those mechanics create opportunities for events to occur that interfere with the assassination in ways that do not arise from any poor planning or execution on the part of the protagonists. Thus, they can end up having to improvise, dodge guards they would otherwise evade with ease, or end up in dire situations that let the protagonists show off their combat skills. It's an elegant system as focused on its purpose as the spring-loaded blade at the heart of its primary predecessor.

What this is not is a game for beginners. Aside from the technical processes involved in the game mechanics, by definition TC:Assassins is about doing questionable things for a greater good and wondering if you're doing the right thing. As I have been running a one-on-one game that combines the same elements of inspiration with a setting very much like Aberrant for years now, I have tremendous appreciation for the things Assassins does and how well it does them. Mixed games that include Assassins, especially in Trinity Continuum where idealism is celebrated rather than disparaged, will raise difficult questions, and those looking for something more light-hearted should probably look elsewhere. I consider that a strength rather than a weakness, however. TC: Assassins may allow for the notion that killing might sometimes be the right thing, but it never ignores the weight of such a choice, and that balance alone makes this a great book. For those ready to embrace the Code and face tyranny, oppression, and exploitation with the most dire tool available in their gaming world, I cannot recommend this book more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Assassins (Pre-Order)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M20 The Rich Bastard’s Guide to Magick
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2022 19:22:03

I was disappointed by this title.

The 'examination of money and mage society' was superficial and to be honest, banal. The ideas of what Wealth means, suggests writers that are all under 30 and have never had any contact with actually wealth people. There are NO offerings for Primal Utility, except a weakening, in that now you can use ordinary Prime to interact with Primal Utility. If there was anything actually using the concepts of Hypereconomics, I must have missed them. The 'movers and shakers' promissed were - again - superficial and unexciting. Nothing that couldn't be made up in half an hour. The High-Ticket Items promissed, are a mix of boring Marvel rip-offs, useless, impractical garbage, and the potentially game breaking Crucible of Thig.

I was so excited when I first noticed this title. Upon actually reading it, I was in turn disappointed and bored. My only ray of hope is the knowledge that this is not the final product. It could still be saved. But I won't be holding my breath.

PS: If asked if I could recommend it, my answer would be NO!. And then the offer of this link: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/145973/Shadowrun-Corporate-Shadowfiles?term=corporate+shadowfiles - it's a better book by far.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Rich Bastard’s Guide to Magick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinity Continuum: Assassins (Pre-Order)
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2022 17:27:34

I got the opportunity to play Trinity Continuum: Assassins as part of Onyx Path Virtual Convention 2021 and have been waiting to get my hands on the manuscript for months. It easily lived up to what I was hoping for. TC: Assassins introduces a secret underworld of contract killers. It requires the corebook to play, and breaks the universe into three worlds: Daylight where normal people live, Twlight is the criminal world, and Shadow where Assassins exist. It's an interesting bit of world building and I like how the writers handled it. In game terms, Assassins are the equivalent of Talents. The key difference, besides Talents operating in Daylight vs Assassins in Shadow, is an Assassin's Masteries (like Gifts) are more focused on the art of killing. The writers do a good job of explaining there's more to the life of an Assassin than going on hit after hit and how to work that into play. We get new Societies for Assassins, cool new powers, and a new way of playing TC Core. I recommend the book for anyone who already plays TC or anyone who wants to play in a John Wick style campaign. Right now it's easily in my top 3 of the TC gameline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Assassins (Pre-Order)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wraith: The Oblivion 20th Anniversary Edition
by Raul A. G. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2021 15:20:57

This is great product, inmersive, one of the best 20th anniversary compilation, ive been playing since 1999, never Wraith, always vampire, but this edition of wraith attracked my attention so much. Great book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith: The Oblivion 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1452 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates